About: Five Rivers

Five Rivers

Recognizing the value of the region, the
Five Rivers RC&D serves as a model of positive, proactive leadership for
continued growth and prosperity.

To educate citizens, develop leadership,
and revitalize the area through cooperative partnerships and leveraged

Area Description:Five Rivers RC&D encompasses eight
counties in the far southeastern corner of Nebraska: Gage, Jefferson, Johnson,
Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee, Richardson, and Saline.

Characterized with wooded, rolling hills, numerous streams and some areas of
steep escarpments, the median population of its numerous rural communities is
about 240. Total area population is roughly 85,000. Growth in minority
populations in some counties has helped offset otherh population losses.

The towns within these counties are within a 1 to 1 1/2 hour drive of the
states’ two metropolitan areas of Omaha and Lincoln.

Priorities:A new five-year Area Plan was adopted in 2007,
focusing on four primary objectives:

  • Progressive Rural Communities
  • Safe, Healthy, and Productive Environment
  • Tourism and Recreation Opportunities
  • Viable and Sustainable Farms and Businesses